4 minute read

The ARRL Foundation

Grants, Student Loans, & Fellowships

The ARRL Foundation was founded in 1973 by the American Radio Relay League, Inc. Their main objective is to foster and administer programs that support the Amateur Radio community, and they are currently the largest association supporting amateur radio in the United States. They are well known for their work with educational institutions and providing a number of scholarships that promote higher educations for students who wish to work in the radio industry.

The foundation is governed by nine members who volunteer and serve as the Board of Directors. They are constantly working with companies involved in radio technology to sponsor scholarships and work with members to benefit their career and advance their education in the radio field. They award almost 60 scholarships each year to students in all walks of life. Listed are some of the most popular and sought out scholarships offered by the ARRL Foundation.

Scholarships Offered by the ARRL Foundation

The Earl I. Anderson Scholarship is available for members of the ARRL who are attending an accredited university of their choice in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan or Florida. Applicants must be in a degree program for electronic engineering or a related technical field approved by the Board of Directors. Applicants must also be in any amateur radio license class. Three of these awards are given each year in the amount of $1,250 each.

The Mary Lou Brown Scholarship is for students with an interest in promoting Amateur Radio Science. Applicants must be a resident of and attending school within the ARRL Northwest Division, which consists of Arkansas, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Applicants must be in the process of obtaining a Bachelor’s degree or higher and maintain a 3.0 grade point average. The scholarship is for $2,500 and given out annually. Multiple scholarships may be given out each year if sufficient funds are available.

The Central Arizona DX Association Scholarship is available for Arizona residents who plan to attend a college or university to study radio technology or a related field. Applicants can be attending any institution and must have a grade point average of 3.2 or above. High school and college students are both urged to apply, but high school students will be considered for the award before college students. The scholarship is given to one applicant per year in the amount of $1,000.

The Challenge Met Scholarship is for students attending an accredited two or four year college, university or technical school of their choice. It goes toward students who have a documented learning disability and are still putting forth significant effort to achieve academic success. There is no required grade point average for this scholarship. Multiple awards are given out annually in the amount of $500.

The Charles N. Fisher Memorial Scholarship is available for ARRL members who are residents and students in the Southwestern Division, which includes Arizona, Los Angeles, Orange County, San Diego, and Santa Barbara. Students must be attending a regionally accredited college, university or technical school and studying the field of electronics, communications, radio or a related field. One scholarship is awarded annually in the amount of $1,000.

The William R. Goldfarb Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors who have demonstrated financial need through their FAFSA or SAR applications. Applicants must also be attending a regionally accredited college or university and focusing their concentration on business, medical, computers, nursing, science or engineering fields. One applicant is chosen for the award per year, and it is typically $10,000 or more. The chosen applicant is based on financial need, qualifications and available funds.

The Charles Clarke Cordle Memorial Scholarship is for residents and students of any accredited university in Georgia or Alabama with a grade point average of 2.5 of higher. Students will preferably be studying in a concentration such as communications, electronics or a related field. One scholarship is distributed to one student annually in the amount of $1,000.

The Zachary Taylor Stevens Scholarship is for residents and students of any accredited university in Michigan, Ohio, or West Virginia. Students must be attending a two or four-year university or technical school majoring in a concentration of their choice, preferably related to radio. One award is given out annually in the amount of $750.

The YASME Foundation Scholarship is for students attending or enrolled and about to attend a four-year college or university who are active in the local Amateur Radio Club and community service programs. The award also prefers students who are at the top 5 or 10% of their class if still in high school, or top 5% in college. Students should also be majoring in the science or engineering field. Multiple awards are distributed annually in the amount of $2,000.

Things to Consider About The ARRL Foundation Scholarships

All scholarships distributed through the ARRL Foundation are awarded in mid-May. Applications for scholarships for the next year become available in October and must be completed by February. Applicants must submit a full application and a copy of their transcript in order to be considered for any scholarships. Applications can be found on the foundation website, http://www.arrl.org/scholarship-application.

Contact Information for The ARRL Foundation

ARRL, The National Association for Amateur Radio
225 Main Street
Newington, CT 06111
Phone: (860) 594-0200
Fax: (860) 594-0259

Additional topics

Financial-Aid Articles