University of Arkansas at Monticello


The University of Arkansas at Monticello is part of the state’s public university system and is overseen by the University of Arkansas System Board of Trustees. The school offers certificates of proficiency, technical certificates, associate, baccalaureate, and master’s degree programs in a wide variety of areas.

The school is located in Monticello in the southeastern corner of the state, approximately 100 miles southeast of Little Rock and 85 miles north of Monroe, Louisiana. Having been established in 1910, it was originally named the Fourth District Agricultural School, after which it was called the Arkansas Agricultural and Mechanical College as of 1925. In 1971, it had joined the state university system and attained four-year status, changing its name to the current and definitive version. Over the last decade, the school has expanded its mission to include technical education with the merger of the Forest Echoes Technical Institute and the Great Rivers Technical Institute becoming, respectively, the UAM College of Technology at Crossett and the UAM College of Technology at McGehee.

Information Summary

Ranks 19th in Arkansas and 1772nd overall. See the entire top 2,000 colleges and universities list
Overall Score (about) 67.9
Total Cost On-Campus Attendance $18,812
Admission Success rate N/A
Student Ratio Students-to-Faculty 13 : 1
Retention (full-time / part-time) 61% / 60%
Enrollment Total (all students) 3,111


Academic accreditation at the University of Arkansas at Monticello is given by several bodies. First and foremost, the school as a whole is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. Furthermore, individual accreditation for given academic programs is given by the following corresponding bodies: the National League for Nursing Accreditation Commission, the Council on Social Work Education, the National Association of Schools of Music, the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, the Society of American Foresters, and the National Alliance for Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships. Technical programs have been approved by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing, the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence, and the Commissions on Accreditation of Allied Health Education.

The academic offering at the University of Arkansas at Monticello ranges from technical certificate courses all the way up to the master’s degree level.

There are nine schools that make up the University of Arkansas at Monticello, and they are: the School of Agriculture, School of Arts and Humanities, School of Business, the School of Computer Information Systems, the School of Education, the School of Forest Resources, the School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences, the School of Nursing, and the School of Social and Behavioral Sciences. Furthermore, there are three divisions offering specialized programs, which are: the Department of General Studies, the Division of Military Sciences, and the Division of Music.

At the four-year level, students may earn a Bachelor of Arts, of Applied Science, of Business Administration, of General Studies, of Music Education, of Science, of Science in Nursing, or of Social Work degree. Higher still, they may also attain a Master of Science in Forest Resources, of Education, or of Arts in Teaching degree at the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

Most Popular Fields of Study


Campus building :: University of Arkansas at Monticello
Building :: University of Arkansas at Monticello

Unique Programs

The school’s programs (at both the bachelor’s and master’s level) within the School of Forest Resources have drawn a lot of acclaim and respect in the academic and wider community due to their unique nature and solid orientation. The school collaborates with the Arkansas Forest Resources Center as well as the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station and the Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service to allow students in this program to conduct meaningful research in Arkansas’ rich and diverse forests, one of the principal natural resources the state possesses.


There is an open admissions policy at the University of Arkansas at Monticello, so virtually all qualified candidates are accepted up through the filling of student capacity for a given semester. Of course, as with any school, certain programs may have admissions standards independent of—and more stringent than—those of the school as a whole.

The admissions requirements for incoming undergraduate, first-time applicants include completing the full application form, providing a complete high school transcript (and from any colleges, if applicable), furnishing official test scores from the ACT, SAT, ASSET, or COMPASS taken within the past five years of the application date, and offering proof of double immunization against measles/mumps/rubella (MMR).


Donning green and white jerseys, the athletics teams at the University of Arkansas at Monticello are referred to as the Boll Weevils in the case of the men’s teams, and as the Cotton Blossoms in the case of the women’s teams. The school competes in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II within the Great American Conference. In total, the school field athletics teams in the following sports: volleyball, football, softball, baseball, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s cross country, and men’s and women’s basketball. Additional intramural sports teams are available for students to participate in.

This website and its associated pages are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by this school. has no official or unofficial affiliation with University of Arkansas at Monticello.