Indiana University School of Medicine


The Indiana University School of Medicine began in 1907 on the Bloomington campus. In 1908 Indiana University became responsible for all medical education in the state of Indiana, and in 1971 the Indiana Statewide Medical Education System was put into effect. It has teaching centers in all major cities in Indiana. The Indiana University Medical Center includes schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, and Allied Health Sciences, as well as university hospitals, and research laboratories.


4-year semimodern. The major objectives of the curriculum are the concentration of core material in both preclinical and clinical years, early exposure to patients, and extensive elective time. The first year is devoted to core basic science courses and introduction to clinical medicine. Second year to core basic science courses and continuing patient contact through the introduction to medicine courses. Third year (12 months) is devoted to clinical experience in pediatrics, obstetrics, gynecology, psychiatry, medicine, and surgery. Fourth year (9 months). Experience in a variety of clinical specialties and the remainder is reserved exclusively for electives.

Unique Programs

Minority admissions: The school has an active program to identify, advise, and recruit disadvantaged students. Other degree programs: Students interested in medical science can work to combine an MD degree with either an MS or a PhD in biomedical disciplines. The combined MD-PhD may also be earned in other sciences, and law, social and behavioral sciences, and the humanities on the Bloomington campus.


Only minimum premedical science courses are required. Preference is given to residents; a number of out-of-state residents are accepted yearly. The application of nonresidents who have significant ties to Indiana may be given greater consideration than to others in this category. The basis for selection is the school’s own technical standards judged essential, as well as scholarship, references, personality, and character. Transfer and advanced standing: Only transfers of Indiana residents from American or foreign medical schools are considered.


System used is Honors/High Pass/Pass/Fail. Students must pass Steps 1 and 2 of the USMLE to graduate. The Medical Center is located in Indianapolis; the School of Medicine has students on 8 other campuses. Teaching: In Indianapolis, preclinical teaching takes place in the Medical Sciences Building. Clinical facilities are provided by the University Hospital, Robert W. Long Hospital, William H. Coleman Hospital for Women, and James Whitcomb Riley Hospital for Children. Other: Emerson Hall accommodates clinical departments; Fesler Hall houses clinical laboratories and offices. Riley Hospital has connecting wings for pediatric and cancer research. A psychiatric research unit is also located at the center. Combined hospitals of the medical center contain 2000 beds. Neighboring hospitals provide some additional experience. Library: The medical library and nursing library combined house more than 125,000 volumes and subscribe to 2500 periodicals. Housing: Very limited on-campus housing.

This website and its associated pages are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by this school. has no official or unofficial affiliation with Indiana University School of Medicine.