University of Kentucky College of Dentistry


The University of Kentucky was established in 1865, and has 13 undergraduate and 1 graduate school. The University of Kentucky College of Dentistry was founded in 1962. Postdoctoral programs are offered in 4 specialties (oral surgery, orthodontics, periodontics and pediatric dentistry) and the school also has strong research and continuing education programs. The College of Dentistry is located in an attractive suburban setting in Lexington.


4-year. The curriculum is based on a diagonal plan. Basic science courses are taught along with clinical applications throughout the program, with clinical work intensifying in the third and fourth years. Clinical experiences begin during the fall of the first year and continue as students gain further competence in delivering dental care to patients. The educational program focuses on learning, competency building, and the development of critical thinking and problemsolving skills in a student-centered environment. Grading Policy The grading policy is based on an A, B, C, F system. This policy emphasizes learning and the development of professional competencies.

Unique Programs

Financial assistance is available, and the college has a full-time director of this program. Personal and career counseling are also an integral part of the curriculum. Entering students are assigned an advisor who works with them throughout their dental education. Tutorial support services are readily obtained for students needing assistance in developing study skills or mastering content/skill areas.


The UK College of Dentistry seeks to enroll students whose backgrounds, personalities, and motivations indicate that they will make the best possible future dental practioners. As a state institution, the college gives preference to qualified applicants who are residents of Kentucky; however, a limited number of highly qualified out-of-state applicants are considered each year and such candidates are encouraged to apply. The basic predental courses are required and a bachelor’s degree is desirable. Transfer and advanced standing: No program is available.


The College of Dentistry is an integral part of the University of Kentucky, the Commonwealth’s flagship university. The 6-story dentistry building is linked to the University of Kentucky Albert B. Chandler Medical Center, which includes the five colleges – Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Allied Health – and the university’s teaching hospital. The main UK campus is across the street, and downtown Lexington is a 10-minute bus ride away.

This website and its associated pages are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by this school. has no official or unofficial affiliation with University of Kentucky College of Dentistry.