University of Texas Medical School at Houston


The University of Texas, which opened in 1883, consists of numerous schools, distributed among 15 campuses in Texas. The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston was established in 1972.


4-year traditional. The first 2 years are largely focused on basic sciences and the second 2 years are primarily focused on the clinical sciences. First year: This year and the second are divided into semesters. The student becomes familiar with the introductory medical sciences. Second year: Problem-based learning is introduced to help the student understand basic science mechanisms in the context of clinical presentations. The student progresses from a study of the fundamentals of molecular and cellular biology and normal morphology of the human body to the techniques of interviewing, history taking, and performance of physical and mental-status issues. Third year: Clerkships in the major clinical disciplines begin for a 12-month sequence. Fourth year: There are additional required clerkships and 5 elective periods. After consultation with faculty advisors, each student develops an educational sequence for the year that relates to his or her career goals and postgraduate plans. Seniors may take electives as part of an approved program.

Unique Programs

Minority admissions: To enhance student adversity, there is an active recruitment program. Other degree programs: MD-PhD program through the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; MD-MPH program through the School of Public Health; MD-OMFS (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery) program.


Prerequisites are the basic premedical sciences as well as calculus and English. The MCAT is also required. The school requires 90 undergraduate credit hours.


Grading system used is 5-cohort: Honors/High Pass/Pass/Marginal/Performance/Fail. During medical school, the students are required to take 2 of the 3 examinations necessary for medical licensure: USMLE Step 1 is taken after completion of the basic science courses. USMLE Step 2 is taken during the fourth year. Teaching: The basic sciences are taught at the Medical School Building. Clinical teaching takes place at Memorial Hermann Hospital, Lyndon Baines Johnson County Hospital, University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, UT Harris County Psychiatric Center, as well as at other hospitals and outpatient clinics throughout the Houston area. Library: The Houston Academy of Medicine/Texas Medical Center Library contains 76,500 square feet of space and holds more than 362,220 volumes, including books and journal volumes. The Learning Resource Center is housed in a state-of-the-art facility, which includes seating for more than 200 in 150 individualized study carrels and 5 group study rooms. There are 6 conference rooms. Housing: The UT Student Housing complex is located in El Paseo, approximately 1 mile south of the Texas Medical Center. There is a complimentary shuttle that runs between the buildings in the Health Science Center and housing.

This website and its associated pages are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by this school. has no official or unofficial affiliation with University of Texas Medical School at Houston.