Wright State University Boonshaft School of Medicine


Wright State University, located in Dayton, was founded in 1964; the School of Medicine was founded 10 years later. It is located on the main university campus in the city of Fairborn, a community within the metropolitan area of Dayton. The school’s goal is to provide physicians with a strong foundation in primary care and comprehensive training in critical, acute, and chronic care as well as preventive medicine. A very substantial percentage of the school’s graduates enter family medicine.


4-year modern. Major courses are designed to prepare students for lifelong learning and service in primary care fields. Biennium I: Students are taught in an interdisciplinary fashion using didactic teaching, large group lectures, small group discussions, computer-based instruction, and case-based/problem-based learning. Throughout the first 2 years, normal structure and functioning, behavioral sciences, health promotion, and disease prevention are integrated into the curriculum. Students are introduced to basic principles and mechanisms of disease in the spring of the first year. Instruction progresses through various organizational levels from molecular to organ systems. From the beginning of the freshman year, students acquire clinical skills through direct patient contact and interaction with clinical faculty preceptors. To provide additional opportunities for clinical exposure and enrichment, clinically based electives are offered as immersion experiences between academic periods in the first 2 years. Students rotate through 6 core clerkships during the third year. Individualized electives, mandatory clerkships, junior internships, and time for board study complete the fourth year.

Unique Programs

Minority Admissions: The school has a stated policy of providing educational opportunities to students from underrepresented minority groups. An Office of MinorityAffairs is coordinated by anAssistant Dean for Minority Affairs. A 4-week prematriculation program, minority physician mentoring, big brother/big sister peer tutoring, board preparation courses, and assistance in development of critical thinking and learning are available. Resident and nonresident minority students are strongly encouraged to apply. Other degree programs: After matriculation students may apply for admission to the biomedical sciences PhD program, the MBA program, and the MPH program.


The basic premedical science courses are required plus 1 year each of English and mathematics. The school seeks students with diverse social, ethnic, and educational backgrounds. Secondary applications and letters of recommendation are requested upon receipt of the AMCAS application. Dedication to human concerns, communication skills, maturity, motivation, letters of recommendation, and academic qualifications are considered when reviewing applications. One-on-one interviews are by invitation only with Ohio residents receiving very strong preference. Women, minorities, and applicants from rural Ohio are particularly encouraged to apply. Transfer and advance standing: Students may transfer from LCME accredited schools at the third year level.


Information not available. Teaching: Educational programs are conducted in the Medical Sciences, Biological Sciences, and Health Sciences buildings on the main campus. Clinical instruction takes place in the 8 local affiliated teaching hospitals and institutions, in free-standing ambulatory health centers, and in physicians’offices. Library: The Fordham Health Sciences Library contains a large collection of books and journals, audiovisual and computer programs, access to on-line data base searching, quiet study areas, and after-hour study space.

This website and its associated pages are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by this school.
StateUniversity.com has no official or unofficial affiliation with Wright State University Boonshaft School of Medicine.