Nova Southeastern University College of Dental Medicine


Nova Southeastern University is the largest independent institution of higher learning in the state of Florida. It resulted from the merger of Nova University and Southeastern University. The College of Dental Medicine is the newest of the 6 schools in the Health Professions Division and was established in 1996. The other health profession schools are the colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Optometry, and Allied Health and Medical Sciences.


4-year traditional. First year: The fall semester includes courses in anatomy, biochemistry, histology, embryology, periodontics, oral medicine, restorative dentistry, and dental materials. The spring semester includes microbiology, immunology, and physiology. Many of the courses will be taught in didactic lectures, laboratory training, seminars, and conferences. Second year: The fall semester of 18 weeks will continue studies of restorative dentistry and oral medicine. Pathology, pharmacology, diagnostic radiology, and dental care systems will be introduced into the curriculum. The spring semester will include the following courses: pediatric dentistry, growth and development, endodontics, orthodontics, periodontics, and Introduction to Clinical Practice. Third year: The fall semester includes courses in oral surgery, emergency medicine, periodontics, and endodontics. Patient care and patient behavioral techniques will be enhanced along with development of clinical skills through clinical practice. The spring semester consists of clinical practice and oral medicine, periodontics, practice management, and community dentistry. Fourth year: The fall and spring semesters will be devoted to expanding clinical expertise in patient care of a variety of individuals. Remaining didactic courses will include optional academic and clinical programs.

Unique Programs

The College of Dental Medicine encourages the application of qualified minority applicants and is committed to a policy of nondiscrimination.


A minimum of 90 semester hours are required and no more than 60 of which will be accepted from a community or junior college in meeting this prerequisite. The basic predental science courses are also necessary. Zoology or microbiology can be substituted for general biology. The required science courses must be completed with a C (2.0) or better grade. Courses in English composition and literature are also required. Additional recommended courses are anatomy, immunology, histology, biochemistry, physiology, principles of management, accounting, communication, art, sculpture, foreign languages, and social sciences. The overall GPA of the applicant should be C+ (2.5) or better. Transfer and advanced standing: A limited number will be considered.


The College of Dental Medicine is located in a complex of 8 buildings that house all of the colleges of the Health Professions Division. The major structures include a 5-story Administration Building and Assembly Building containing 2 auditoriums and 8 classrooms. All of the clinic, research, and basic science laboratories for all of the colleges, along with the library, are located in the library/laboratory building. The main dental studies building houses 100 operatories, 4 surgical as well as 4 oral surgery areas, emergency rooms, and radiology operatories. Specialty care units and offices and classrooms are also in the building.

This website and its associated pages are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by this school. has no official or unofficial affiliation with Nova Southeastern University College of Dental Medicine.